Vampire Diaries “Pilot” re-air

Let me start off by saying WOW… it’s been awhile since I saw this episode originally air (hard to believe it’s been something like 8 months). I was pleasantly surprised seeing all of the little things I forgot and better yet all the little things that stand out to me now that I’ve seen the whole season play out. To say the least, I’m very glad they are re-airing the whole season again. I wonder what else will stand out or what other little details will catch my eye now that I’m watching the show with from a whole new perspective. 
 

Random fav scene (glad this scene from the book was incorporated into the show!)

 

So, I started my review/recap… looked at it before I did any editing… then clicked delete… it ended up way to long…

The first show is always important in any series because it lays the foundation for the storylines and plots while trying to give you a good first look at all of the first essential characters. That ends up with a show crammed with a lot of little details to help the audience get a decent feel for each character. And that leaves me with a ridiculously long review so I changed my strategy. Much simpler and a link to the full detailed synopsis at the TVD Wiki…

 Just a basic glimpse at our starting character line up:

First basic impressions/looks we get at the vampire Salvatore brothers (who both have their own interests in Elena)
Stefan: very aware of Elena, troubled past, wants a fresh start, wants nothing to do with his brother
Damon:dark, murderous, linked to the constant appearing crow, watches Elena, promised Stefan an eternity of misery 

 

The Gilbert family
Elena: struggling, sad, still grieving over her parents death, wants to make a try at a clean start, looks over her brother, instantly attracted to Stefan
Jeremy: Like his sister he’s still grieving over his parents death, struggling, using and dealing drugs, has a sexual relationship with Vickie, seems to be distant and to keep to himself
Jenna: Jeremy and Elena’s Aunt, takes them both in after their parent‘s death, struggling to be a good parent/guardian, flustered, wants to do good by them but definitely lost 

Elena’s group of friends –
Matt: Elena’s ex, hurt over being dumped, upset over attention Elena is giving to Stefan, still wants her and is going to try
Bonnie: closest friend to Elena, grandmother told her she was psychic, hade a type of “vision” when reading Elena, seems genuinely kind and gives off just a general feeling of good
Caroline: fake cheery friend type, wants attention, feels unwanted, jealous of Elena, wanted Stefan but didn’t get picked, noticed by Damon 

Other misc. characters
Vickie: Matt’s sister, “dating”  Tyler, hooking up with Jeremy for her drugs, doesn’t seem very happy, gets attacked (by Damon), tells Mat it was a vampire
Tyler: He screams jerk.. You just know it, “dating” Vickie, also does drugs, doesn’t respect Vickie, aggressive
Mr. Tanner: The history teacher, annoyed by students lack of knowledge, belittling, taken aback by Stefan’s knowledge of civil war (which of course he knows)
Uncle Zach: A Salvatore, Stefan is living with him, aware of vampires, aware of recent murders, reveals to Stefan some still remember the town’s history 

 

For a better look at the Stefan/Elena dynamic: ( their voice over quotes give a look at how similar they feel and think at the core and how they will end up helping each other heal in the future)

The show starts out with a voice over of Stefan-
For over a century, I have lived in secret. Hiding in the shadows. Alone in the world. Until now. I am a vampire – and this is my story. 

Stefan- I shouldn’t have come home. I know the risk. But I had no choice. I have to know her.
Elena- Dear Diary, Today will be different. It has to be. I will smile, and it will be believable. My smile will say, “I’m fine, thank you. Yes, I feel much better.” I will no longer be the sad little girl that lost her parents. I will start fresh, be someone new. It’s the only way I’ll make it through. 

 

Elena- Dear Diary, I made it through the day. I must have said “I’m fine, thanks” at least 37 times. And I didn’t mean it once. But no one noticed. When someone asks “How are you?”, they really don’t want an answer.
Stefan- I lost control today. Everything I’ve kept buried inside came rushing to the surface. I’m simply not able to resist her. 

Hmmm looks like Stefan's journal holds some BIG secrets.

 

  

(Elena) Dear Diary, I couldn’t have been more wrong. I thought that I could smile and nod my way through it, pretend like it would all be okay. 

(Stefan) I had a plan. I wanted to change who I was, create a life as someone new, someone without the past. 

(Elena) Without the pain. 

(Stefan) Someone alive. 

(Elena) But it’s not that easy. Bad things stay with you. 

(Stefan) They follow you. You can’t escape them – as much as you want to. 

(Elena) All you can do is be ready for the good, so when it comes, you invite it in. Because you need it. I need it. 

A good ending to the show. Sets it up for the season and lets you know that they both have realized that in order for their desired changes they have to confront all of their demons and pain.  

  

Screen Caps From tvscrencaps.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

